## NEW AGENDA FOR PROSPERITY CONFERENCE

The Melbourne Institute and *The Australian* jointly held their fifth Economic and Social Outlook Conference in March, entitled 'New Agenda for Prosperity'. The two-day conference brought together over 420 delegates from academia, politics, public service, business, unions and community groups to discuss policy options for Australia.

Key plenary sessions focused on the macroeconomic challenges of the China boom and the new inflation pressures; whether the benefits of the boom have bypassed significant parts of Australia; the challenge of tackling indigenous disadvantage after the 'apology'; the regulation of the infrastructure catch-up; and the environmental constraint on growth. Concurrent sessions covered issues including education, hospitals, welfare, labour supply, broadband, tax, innovation and research, and the regulatory burden.

The conference was opened with an address by the Prime Minister, the Hon Kevin Rudd. It was addressed by the Leader of the Opposition, the Hon Brendan Nelson, eight Ministers, three Shadow Ministers and 52 other distinguished speakers.

The speakers and Chairs were:

Professor Margaret Abernethy

(The University of Melbourne)

The Hon Anthony Albanese MP

Professor Ian Anderson (The University of Melbourne) Professor James Angus (The University of Melbourne) Mr Gary Banks AO (Productivity Commission) Mr Ravi Bhatia (Primus Australia) Mr Garry Bowditch (Infrastructure Partnerships Australia) Dr Hielke Buddelmeyer (The University of Melbourne) Senator the Hon Kim Carr The Hon Fred Chaney AO (Desert Knowledge Australia) Ms Melinda Cilento (Business Council of Australia) Senator the Hon Stephen Conroy Mr Peter Cosier (Wentworth Group of Concerned Scientists) Mr Tim Cox (PricewaterhouseCoopers) Professor Glyn Davis AC (The University of Melbourne) Professor Julian Disney AO (National Affordable Housing Summit) Dr Stephen Duckett (Queensland Health) Mr Henry Ergas (CRA International) Mr Bill Evans (Westpac Banking Corporation) Professor John Freebairn (The University of Melbourne)



The Hon Kevin Rudd MP, Professor Glyn Davis and Professor Stephen Sedgwick

Professor Geoff Gallop (The University of Sydney)

Dr Frank Gelber (BIS Shrapnel)

Dr Rowan Gilmore (Australian Institute for Commercialisation)

Mr Phillip Glyde (Australian Bureau of Agricultural and Resource Economics) Professor Robert Gregory AO (The Australian National University)

Dr Nicholas Gruen (Lateral Economics) Dr Steve Hatfield-Dodds (CSIRO

Sustainable Ecosystems) Ms Jennifer Hewett (*The Australian*)

Professor Peter Høj (The University of South Australia)

Mr Mitchell Hooke (Minerals Council of Australia)

Mr Michael Horn (Brotherhood of St Laurence)

Mr Andrew Johnson (Australian Council of Social Service)

Mr Alan Johnston (Productivity Commission)

Associate Professor Guyonne Kalb (The University of Melbourne)

Dr Michael Keating AC (Independent Pricing and Regulatory Tribunal)

Mr Paul Kelly (The Australian)

Professor Paul Kerin (Melbourne Business School)

Dr Stephen King (Australian Competition and Consumer Commission)

Professor Marcia Langton AM (The University of Melbourne)

Professor Richard Larkins AO (Monash University)

Mr Jeff Lawrence (Australian Council of Trade Unions)

Mr Charles Laycock (latia Vision Sciences) Dr Andrew Leigh (The Australian National University)

Professor Guay Lim (The University of Melbourne)

The Hon Jenny Macklin MP

Professor Geoff Masters (Australian Council for Educational Research)

Mr Donald McGauchie AO (Telstra Corporation Ltd)

Professor Peter McPhee (The University of Melbourne)

Mr George Megalogenis (The Australian)



Mrs Heather Ridout

The Hon Dr Brendan Nelson MP Mr Tony Nicholson (Brotherhood of St

Laurence) Ms Mary Ann O'Loughlin (The Allen Consulting Group)

Mr David Pearce (The Centre for International Economics)

Mr Hutch Ranck (DuPont Australia and New Zealand)

Professor Ian Renard (The University of Melbourne)

Dr Anthony Richards (Reserve Bank of Australia)

Mr Chris Richardson (Access Economics) Mrs Heather Ridout (Australian Industry Group)

Professor Alan Robson AM (The University of Western Australia)

The Hon Nicola Roxon MP

The Hon Kevin Rudd MP

Mr Graeme Samuel AO (Australian Competition and Consumer Commission) Professor Peter Saunders (The Centre for Independent Studies)

Professor Tony Scott (The University of Melbourne)



Ms Mary Ann O'Loughlin

Professor Stephen Sedgwick (The University of Melbourne)

Mr Eric Sidoti (The Whitlam Institute)

Mr Rod Sims (Port Jackson Partners Limited)

Professor Judith Sloan (Australian Fair Pay Commission)

The Hon Tony Smith MP

Mr Michael Stutchbury (The Australian)

The Hon Wayne Swan MP

The Hon Lindsay Tanner

Professor Collette Tayler (The University of Melbourne)

The Hon Malcolm Turnbull MP

Mr Matthew Warren (The Australian)

Professor Neil Warren (The University of New South Wales)

Mr Alan Wood (The Australian)

Professor Mark Wooden (The University of Melbourne)

Mr Michael Woods (Productivity Commission)

Associate Professor Judith Yates (The University of Sydney)

Professor Mike Young (The University of Adelaide)



Professor Ross Garnaut

Mr Galarrwuy Yunupingu AM

The Gala Dinner address was given by Professor Ross Garnaut, Professor of Economics at the Australian National University and the Federal Government's Climate Change Adviser.

On this occasion the David Finch Lecture was delivered in conjunction with the conference. Professor Richard Cooper, Mauritis C. Boas Professor of International Economics at Harvard University, spoke on 'Understanding Global Imbalances'.

Papers and presentations are available on the Melbourne Institute website at <www.melbourneinstitute.com/conf2008/ default.html>.



Attendees at the conference